There are two kinds of people, those who do the work and those who take the credit. Try to be in the first group; there is less competition there.
Indira Gandhi, The most dynamic woman of the twentieth century

Don’t be a know-it-all; be a learn-it-all.
Satya Nadella, CEO, Microsoft

Principal Investigators

Sudip Das. MPharm, PhD
Professor of Pharmaceutical Sciences
  • Butler University
    • Professor, 2015 – present
    • Associate Professor (tenured), 2004 – 15
    • Department Chair, 2004-09
    • Director of Graduate Program, 2004-18
  • Indiana University, School of Medicine
  • Idaho State University
    • Associate Professor (tenured 2003), 1998-2004
  • Nova Southeastern University
    • Assistant Professor, 1993-98
  • Memorial University of Newfoundland, Canada
    • Assistant Professor, 1991-93
  • University of Queensland, Australia
    • UQ PostDoctoral Fellow, 1990-91
Nandita Ganguly Das, MPharm, PhD, RPh
Professor of Pharmaceutical Sciences
  • Butler University
    • Professor, 2018 – present
    • Associate Professor, 2005-2018 (tenured 2012)
    • Research Associate Professor, 2004-05
  • Idaho State University
    • Assistant Professor, 1998-2004
  • Nova Southeastern University
    • Adjunct Assistant Professor, 1997-98
  • Eckerd Drug Corporation (Rite Aid), Plantation, FL
    • Staff Pharmacist, 1995-98
  • SmithKline Beecham Pharmaceuticals (Glaxo SmithKline), King of Prussia, PA
    • Graduate Scholar and Research Assistant, 1993-95


Michael C. Veronesi, MD, PhD, Assistant Professor of Radiology & Imaging Sciences
Indiana University School of Medicine, Indianapolis, IN

Current member of the lab

NameResearch project
Victor Anguiano-Rosales, BS
R&D Scientist, Eli Lilly & Co, IN
Development of a nanoemulsion delivery system for nose-to-brain delivery of aripiprazole

Former members of the lab

NameRoleResearch ProjectCurrent affiliation
Dr. Sarat ChattarajPostdoctoral FellowOral delivery of microparticulate vaccinesSenior Principal Scientist at Viatris (Mylan Pharmaceuticals), Morgantown, WV
Dr. Prabhakar ReddyPostdoctoral Fellow – funded by NIH-NIDA
Mucoadhesive buprenorphine for opioid addiction therapy – funded by NIDAPrincipal, University College of Pharmaceutical Sciences, Palamuru University, Telangana, India
Dr. Vijay Sutariya
Postdoctoral Fellow – funded by NIH-NIGMS
Lymphatic targeted tamoxifen for breast cancer therapy Associate Professor, College of Pharmacy, University of South Florida, USA
Ms. Kanako Somatsu MS graduate, 2007Liposomal delivery of siRNA for silencing of the presenilin-1 gene responsible for development of Alzheimer’s diseaseSenior Product Manager, Boston Scientific, Chicago, IL
Ms. Sharmeen RafiqueMS graduate, 2008Development of submicron emulsion formulations of doxorubicin and cyclosporine for reversal of multidrug resistance and cell survival studies in MES/SA-Dx5 cell linesCEO, Laminos Laboratories Pvt. Ltd, Mumbai, India
Dr. Sheetal DeMello,
AAPS-AstraZeneca Award, 2007
MS graduate, 2009Development of paclitaxel and cyclosporine A loaded PEG-PLGA nanoparticles for reversal of multidrug resistance in MES-SA/Dx5 cellsScientist, Bristol-Myers Squibb, NJ
Dr. Amit KumarMS graduate, 2009Development  and evaluation of thermoreversible gels for nasal drug delivery of troglitazone and insulin for Alzheimer’s disease  Lead Scientist, Bristol-Myers Squibb, NJ
Ms. Satwati Shukla,MS graduate, 2011
Development of nanoparticulate formulations of the
antiangiogenic drug sunitinib maleate and their Influence on
cell survival in human umbilical vein endothelial cells
Ms. Ruchi Kapoor,
AAPS – AstraZeneca Award, 2009
MS graduate, 2011Influence of co-formulated submicron emulsions of vincristine and cyclosporine on Cell survival in multidrug resistant MES-SA/Dx5 cellsScientist, Novartis, San Francisco, CA
Ms. Yatri Patel,
AAPS-Amgen Award, 2011
MS graduate, 2012Aptamer conjugated PEG-PLGA nanoparticles for delivery of docetaxel to MUC-1 positive cancer cellsScientist, Pfizer Inc, Andover, MA
Dr. Jainik PanchalMS graduate, 2013Preparation and characterization of sunitinib magnetoliposomes as a model for theranostic nanomedicineSenior Scientist, Merck Inc, NJ
Ms. Neelima Mantha,
AAPS-Amgen Award, 2011
MS graduate, 2013Inhibition of mutant Huntingtin protein with liposomal siRNA in inducible
PC-12 Cells
Senior Scientist, Genentech-Roche, CA
Mr. Shounak BoseMS graduate, 2014Ocular Formulation of a Poorly Soluble New Chemical Entity for the Treatment of Age-Related Macular DegenerationCEO, Indo-German Pharmaceuticals, India
Mr. Rameej KagdiMS graduate, 2014Knockdown of Survivin Protein Expression Using Liposomal siRNASenior Scientist, Glaxo-SmithKline, PA
Ms. Puja KanvindeMS graduate, 2015Design of targeted iRGD peptide modified PLGA nanoparticles loaded with docetaxel and their effect on MDA-MB-231 breast cancer cellsAnalytical Chemist, Hospira, Austin, TX
Dr. Sanika RegeMS graduate, 2016Enhanced cytotoxicity via down-regulation of Survivin expression in MCF-7 and HeLa cells by PLGA-siRNA nanoparticlesPostdoctoral Fellow, Johnson & Johnson
Dr. Raj KammariMS graduate, 2017Co-delivery of Paclitaxel and Survivin siRNA using PLGA Nanoparticles Conjugated with iRGD PeptideScientist, Alexion Biopharm (Astra-Zeneca), MA
Ms. Nikeeta KheradiaMS graduate, 2017Lipid Nanoemulsion of Curcuminoid Enhances Cytotoxicity and Apoptosis in HeLa cellsR&D Scientist, Verdure Sciences, IN
Ms. Nairrita MajumdarMS graduate, 2018Enhanced Cytotoxicity and Apoptosis of Triple Negative MDA-MB-231 Cells with Docetaxel Loaded and Hyaluronic Acid Conjugated Polylactide-co-glycolide-Polyethylene Glycol Nanoparticles, with or without
Co-administered iRGD Peptide
PhD candidate, West Virginia Medical School, WV
Ms. Rukmini LadiMS graduate, 2019Self-assembling Modified β-cyclodextrin Conjugated Nanoparticles and Liposomal siRNA Efficiently Knockdown the Mutant Huntingtin Gene in a Modified PC-12 Cell LineScientist, ElevateBio, MA
Ms. Tanvi GandhiMS graduate, 2019Smart Therapy: Co-administration of Cisplatin with CCND1 siRNA Loaded Liposomes for the Treatment of Mantle Cell Lymphoma
(Co-Advisor: Dr. Masamha)
Senior Scientist, Eli Lilly & Co, IN
Ms. Nayela Chowdhury
AAPS Best Poster Awardee
MS graduate, 2019Formulation studies on paclitaxel nanomicelles and comparative evaluation of efficacy in 2D and 3D culture models of triple negative breast cancer cellsPhD candidate, Indiana University School of Medicine, IN
Mr. Mohammad Ramadan, Fulbright Scholar from EgyptMS graduate, 2020Low-temperature, Stress-free, Scalable Production of Docetaxel Folate-targeted Liposomes and their Physicochemical EvaluationSenior Production Specialist, MTBI Diagnostics, Egypt
Dr. Ryan DimmittPharmD, 2017,
Cum Laude
Comparative study on the efficacy of cell-penetrating peptides, iRGD and HR9, in promoting docetaxel induced cytotoxicity in breast cancer cells
Dr. Katie Cich
AACP-Walmart Scholar
PharmD, 2012,
Summa Cum Laude
Clinical Pharmacist, Orlando VA, FL
Dr. Samreen Khatri
AFPE Gateway and Pfizer Scholarship Award
PharmD, 2008,
Cum Laude
Effect of methotrexate conjugated PAMAM dendrimers on the viability of MES-SA uterine cancer cellsStaff pharmacist, Richard L. Roudebush VA Medical Center, IN
Dr. Brenda GreenenPharmD, 2008,
Cum Laude
In Vitro Dissolution of Buprenorphine Sublingual Tablets Using a Novel Flow-Through Apparatus
Dr. Amelia BrandtPharmD, 2022Exosome: A biogenic Nanovesicle for Anticancer Drug Delivery
Mr. Madhu SurapaneniMS graduate, 2004Development of a mucoadhesive formulation of pentoxifyllineDirector, Business Operations, Pfizer, NY
Previously: Bristol-Myers
Ms. Swathi PinnamaneniMS graduate, 2002 Nanoemulsion delivery system for tamoxifenPrincipal Scientist, PTC Therapeutics, NJ
Previously: Bristol-Myers